• Kabalyero.com For Sale
  • Beware of Pay-Ads.com

    The Internet | April 4th, 2008 by Melo 1,095 views

    A few days ago I joined Pay-Ads.com and added their banner code at San Pablo City but today I received a Malware notification e-mail from Lord Google informing me that malware was found in San Pablo City.

    We recently discovered that some of your pages can cause users to be infected with malicious software. We have begun showing a warning page to users who visit these pages by clicking a search result on Google.com.

    Beware of Pay-Ads.com

    This was a major concern for me because I’m quite sure that San Pablo City is malware free but to make sure I checked my wordpress installation for any suspicious looking files but I found none. I then retraced everything that I did on San Pablo City in the past few days and the only thing I can remember was adding a Pay-Ads.com banner.

    What I did next is search Google for Pay-Ads.com and my suspicion was confirmed. Pay-Ads.com was also marked by Lord Google of being harmful and, not only that, listed in the search result where reports from other website owners, who tried Pay-Ads.com, that had the same experience as mine.

    Tim Worstall Tabloid Edition described Pay-Ads.com as “scummy, thieving bastards” for injecting malware in their banner ads and causing people grief in return.

    Online Earning Opportunities, who is also a member of Entrecard does not recommed Pay-Ads.com at all saying that Pay-Ads.comreally pays but it really makes our site suck“.

    Kedoa Blog also tried it and his experience with it was not pleasant at all, “it installed unwanted software, malware and god knows what else on some peoples computers“.

    You can find more reports about Pay-Ads.com by searching Lord Google for “pay-ads.com”.

    My biggest mistake here was I didn’t check first if the program or the site was clean or not but now I know better. From now on, even if the program or site is recommended by a Top Blogger, I’ll do some searching first before joining it.

    Anyway, I’ve removed Pay-Ads.com‘s banner code and I’ve also requested a review from Lord Google for San Pablo City. Knowing how Lord Google works, it may take a few days to a few weeks before that warning is removed from San Pablo City but I’m willing to wait as long as that dreadful warning is removed from San Pablo City’s google listing.

    Update: A few days after removing Pay-Ads.com‘s banner off of San Pablo City and after requesting a review from StopBadware.org, Lord Google has cleared San Pablo City’s search result listing of that dreadful warning. :D

    If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

    Tags: malware, pay-ads.com, san pablo city, scam

    View Comments to “Beware of Pay-Ads.com”

    1. MrGPT says:

      Thanks for the warning about Pay-Ads.
      I searched for San Pablo City and noticed Google still had your site marked as harmful. Hopefully they get rid of that nasty notice soon. I’m sure it’s making a pretty big dent in the traffic you get.

    2. nick says:

      waah! thanks for the info. I signed up a few days ago when I saw a referral button in your sidebar.. kaya pala naisip ko to kagabi eh, sabi na nga ba parang may mali.. hehe

    3. happy says:

      thanks for the info.

    4. Loisel says:

      Taga Sn. Pablo city ka ba? Sa Los Baños lang kasi ako thanks sa pagdalaw sa blog ko keep it up.

    5. [...] with, “This site may harm your computer”, and upon checking I saw that SL Pay has a Pay-Ads.com banner on its homepage. For those who don’t know, Pay-Ads.com banner [...]

    6. nick says:

      As I opened my entrecard account earlier today, I noticed that advertising costs suddenly fluctuate.. do you have any news about this? medyo matagal n kasi kong di naopen entrecard account ko kaya medyo nabigla ako…

      nick’s last blog post..Gaming StumbleUpon: Exploiting the Traffic

    7. Raj says:

      What a coincidence! I was just about to add the pay-ads code and fortunately i read your post. Remembered me of the days when my blog (for no reason) was tagged as a badware website, but later got the issue resolved. Thanks a billion.

      Raj’s last blog post..Intel Prepares For The Cosmic Ray Threat To Computer Chips

    8. dean says:

      Excellent post! I really enjoyed reading it. I will be back for more!

      Sincerely,
      dean
      http://deanproject.blogspot.com

    9. Hi dude, thanks for sharing this information. Recently I have also such malicious attack on my blog most probably or can be due to pay-ads.com as you mention it causes such kind of things. Since I have removed the ad, lets see whether it occurs again or not.
      By the way what is lord google???
      and i checked your san pablocity blog and these was the result stated by google diagnostic, open the link and see it.
      http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=sanpablocity.net

      Thanks again.
      gedet basumatary

      gedet basumatarys last blog post..Simplicity Theme Released for WordPress User

      • Melo says:

        Hi there! No problem but it seems that Google still has a record of bad sites that caused problems for that blog of mine.

        Malicious software is hosted on 4 domain(s), including findsprint.info, adod.info, neoffic.com.

        3 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including findsprint.info, pay-ads.com, neoffic.com.

        So, it anyone else is reading this then beware of those domains.

    10. [...] visited my blog and some of them are too redirected to other sites. Through this process melo from i-tong.com responded me that he was too attacked by malware as me few months [...]

    blog comments powered by Disqus
    Making a Few Bucks Online | Earn, Explore and Enjoy